Rutherford Hotel, Nelson

Nelson Sports Awards

Date:     25/11/2017

Venue:  Rutherford Hotel, Nelson


Saturday, 25 November
Rutherford Hotel, Nelson



Nominations close at 5pm on Wednesday, 11 October

The Nelson Sports Awards is Sport Tasman's signature event of the year and recognises outstanding performance to service and sport by people of the Nelson region.

Get ready for a great evening celebrating the successes of our region's athletes, coaches and lifetime contributors to sport. This is a highlight on the Nelson sporting calendar and a night not to be missed.


Categories for this year's awards:

  • Nelson Pine Industries Sportsman of the Year
  • Bowater Motor Group Sportswoman of the Year
  • More FM Sports Team of the Year
  • Sport Tasman Junior Sportsman of the Year
  • Hirepool Junior Sportswoman of the Year
  • Fairfax Media Junior Sports Team of the Year
  • Masters Sportsperson/Sports Team of the Year
  • ASB Coach of the Year
  • Rata Foundation Lifetime Contribution to Sport

Performance by nominees will only be considered when they've occurred during the qualifying period of 10 October 2016 to 11 October 2017. Athletes with disabilities are eligible for nomination in all categories.




Awards Evening $95

Includes: 3 course plated meal, guest speaker preentation, opening and dinner entertainment, drinks throughout the evening and Awards presentations.

Tables are in rounds of ten and you can either purchase a full or partial table. This event is open to the public. Tickets can be purchased from Sport Tasman on 03 923 2311 or


Where & When

Rutherford Hotel, 27 Nile Street W, Nelson

Saturday, 25 November

5pm - 11pm


This is a formal, black tie event.



The event has been running since 1959. 

  • Click here to view the winners history.
  • Click here to view a list of the 2016 nominees.
  • For a list of 2016 winners click here
  • Lifetime Contribution to Sport recipients can be viewed here.

2016 Winner
Liam Malone

2015 Winner
Zoe McBride
2011 Winner
Shane Christie
2012 Winner
Team Seagate
Adventure Racing


More Information

For more information please contact Rita Merriman, Events Manager


Phone: 03 923 2311


Thank you to our sponsors:








"Action is the foundation of all success."
Pablo Picasso






Rita Merriman
Events Manager
03 923 2311