Winners have been announced on the Sport Tasman Facebook page and the Nelson App

Founded in 1959, and originally called the Nelson Marlborough Sportsman of the Year Awards, the Awards were designed to recognise outstanding performance in the field of sport within the Nelson and Marlborough Districts. 

Now called the Nelson Sports Awards, after Marlborough developed their own event,  they continue to recognise outstanding performance and contribution by the region’s sportspeople. 

The Awards has become a premier sports event for the Nelson and Tasman districts. Over their course many local, national and world champions have been honoured for their achievements and their impact on our community. 

Sport Tasman is pleased to be able to continue to bring this event to life to honour our outstanding sportspeople.

The ultimate accolade of the evening is the ASB Nelson Sportsperson of the Year who is determined to be the overall winner from the winners of the 8 categories below:

  • Sportsman of the Year
  • Sportswoman of the Year
  • Sport Team of the Year
  • Junior Sportsman of the Year
  • Junior Sportswoman of the Year
  • Junior Sports Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Masters Sportsperson/Sports Team of the Year

Further recognition of our wonderful community takes place through the presentation of the Lifetime Contribution to Sport Award. This is awarded to those sporting stalwarts that have given over 20 years of service to Sport in the region.

Click on the black button above to see a list of all the nominees for this year's awards.